EY Training Programme

East Yorkshire (EY) is one of three Locality Schemes or Groups in the Yorkshire and Humber Foundation School. We oversee and support training for over 350 foundation doctors in four Acute Trust areas in North Yorkshire, Northern Lincolnshire & Goole and East Yorkshire covering a geographical area of over 4500 square miles.

EY work in partnership with Hull York Medical School (HYMS) and the local NHS trusts, to deliver a Foundation Programme which builds on undergraduate training, complies with the GMC requirements for training set out in the curriculum, and creates the best possible educational and career opportunities for progression into specialty training.

We deliver a highly regarded mandatory professional education Training Programme (formally known as Professional Development Programme and Generic Skills Programme) for both F1 and F2 in addition to a popular weekly F1 lunchtime teaching programme delivered in each trust.

Our two year training programmes are tailored to provide each trainee with a variety of clinical placements over which they have some choice and which are guaranteed to meet the UKFPO Curricular requirements. 

Since 2014, F1 and F2 posts have been 2 year linked posts, so trainees will know their placements will be for the full two Foundation years.  

For general information regarding Yorkshire and Humber Foundation Programmes, please see our YHFS foundation training website 

For details of the Academic posts, please click here.


Trusts within the East Yorkshire (EY) Locality Scheme

Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

  • Hull Royal Informary, Hull
  • Castle Hill Hospital, Cottingham

Northern Lincolnshire and Goole NHS Foundation Trust

  • Diane Princess of Wales Hospital, Grimsby
  • Scunthorpe General Hospital, Scunthorpe

York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • The York Hospital, York
  • Scarborough General Hospital, Scarborough
  • Bridlington & District Hospital, Bridlington