Key Contact

The Head of School for public health training in Yorkshire and the Humber is Val Barker

Contact: Amanda Cartwright 

School Structure

The school is lead and supported by:

Head of School: Val Barker

Training Programme Directors: Shirley Brierley and Susan Hird

Programme Support Co-ordinator:  Naomi Koziol

Programme Support Officer: Amanda Cartwright 

To contact the programme support team, click here . We aim to respond to all queries to the school mailbox within 3 working days of receipt, but it is usually within 24 hours.


There are several committees within the school:

School Management Committee

Chair: Val Barker 

Faculty Advisor: Phil Ayers 

Dental: Jenny Godson 

Training Advisory Group

Chair: Victoria Eaton

Specialist Registrar Committee (SRC)

Co-chairs: Matt Greensmith and Andy Irvine

IT rep: Jack Lewis

Academic rep: Ben Holden

PHE and Health Protection: Pippa Bird and Jack Lewis

Part A coordinator: Peter Roderick, Kate Questa, Anna Ray and Anna Brook

Part B coordinator: Gill Kelly

BMA rep: Nina Amedzro

Conference planning (2020): Pippa Bird, Peter Roderick & Amy Stevens

Conference planning (2021): Jaimee Wylam, Helen Watson, Alex Macnamera

Practitioner Programme: Helen Christmas

Social rep: Amy Stevens

Sustainability rep: Yannish Naik (to December)

ePortfolio champion: Richard James

Global Health rep: Nina Putnis to January then Jack Lewis

National SRC reps: Matt Greensmith and Andy Irvine